Hon. Samuel Losuron Poghisio, EGH (Chairman)

Hon Samuel Poghisio graduated from Makerere University in 1982 with a Bachelor of Science degree and in 1987 he acquired an MA (Communications), from Wheaton College, USA, and a Masters of Divinity (M.Div) in Philosophy and Theology in 1992 from Lincoln, also in the US.
An academician, Hon Poghisio has served as an Assistant Minister, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology and Minister, Ministry of Information and Communications in Kenya.
During his free time Hon Poghisio loves playing golf, squash, soccer as well as reading, debating and farming.


Capt. Gilbert Macharia M. Kibe (Director General)

Capt. Kibe brings on board over 34 years of experience in aviation and other sectors. He is a holds a  Master of Business administration (Aviation) from Moi University, Commercial Pilots License with Single & Multi-Engine Land & Instrument Rating among others qualifications. His has previously worked as Executive Chairman Eagle Aviation, Director Business Development at Home Afrika Ltd, Managing Director Bahati Ridge Development Ltd and Chief Executive at Nairobi Flight Training Ltd. Capt Kibe also served as a Board member of KCAA from 2003 to 2009.


Mr. Peter Munywoki Mutie (Board Member)

Peter Mutie is a communications specialist with experience spanning over two decades. He is currently an Executive Director at Ocean Communications Limited, a company providing integrated communication services to blue chip organisations.
He has served in a range of dynamic sectors including publishing, media, energy, development banking, health, entertainment and the UN.
Peter is the immediate past Chief Executive Officer of Kenya Film Commission. He is also a founder Board Member of Brand Kenya and of the Media Council of Kenya. He has provided his expertise and knowledge in Public Relations and Strategic Communication to KenGen, East African Development Bank, National AIDS Control Council, among other organizations.


Dr. Eng. Karanja Kibicho (Board Member)

  Dr.Eng.Karanja Kibicho (CBS) is the Principal Secretary State Department of Interior in the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of the National Government. Before the current appointment, he served as the Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and also Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Industrialization.


Mr. Irungu Nyakera, (Board Member)

IrunguMr. Irungu Nyakera, Principal Secretary, State department of Transport, Ministry of Transport & Infrasctructure holds a Bachelor of Science, Management Science and Engineering (Financial Analysis and Decision Engineering) from Stanford University, CA, USA.



Mrs Jacinta Nzioka Mbithi (Board Member)

Mrs Jacinta Nzioka – Mbithi is the current Ag. Chief Executive Officer (CEO) at the Kenya Tourism Board (KTB). Prior to her appointment, Mrs. Nzioka-Mbithi was the Ag. Director of Marketing since 2012. She has over 10 years experience in Tourism Marketing and has led several initiatives and projects to turn around the sector working closely with other government agencies and strategic partners both locally and abroad.


Fatuma Hirsi Mohamed(Board Member)

Principal Secretary, Ministry of Tourism Kenya ,Government Administration Current Ministry of Tourism,
Previous :Universal Postal Union,Kenya Power ,FHM Collaborations
Moi University


Dr. Kamau Thugge, (Board Member)

Dr. Kamau Thugge the Principal Secretary, The National Treasury (EBS, MBS), B.A. (Econ.), MA (Econ.), PhD (Econ.) is currently the Principal Secretary at the National Treasury. He has oversight responsibility for the National Treasury. He has previously worked in the Ministry of Finance as Head of Fiscal and Monetary Affairs Department, Economic Secretary and as a Senior Economic Advisor. Before joining the Ministry of Finance he worked with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) both in the policy and non-policy making Departments as a Senior Economist and Deputy Division Chief respectively. Dr. Thugge holds a Bachelors of Arts (Economics) (1980) from Colorado Collage, USA, Master in Economics (1982) from Johns Hopkins University, USA and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Economics (1990) from Johns Hopkins University, USA.


Ms. Lucy Wanjiru Karume (Board Member)

BA (Travel and Transportation); MBA (Hospitality and Business Management)

Work Experience: Sales and Marketing Executive (Bunson Travel Limited); Operations Manager (Cianda Flowers); Owner (Pies and Buns Restaurant); General Manager (Indian Ocean Beach Club); Business Development Director (Jacaranda Group of Hotels)




Mr. Chris Chirchir Arap Kuto (Board Member)

  MSc. (Air Transport Management); Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (ICAO Type II Airframes & Power Plants); Diploma in Aeronautical Engineering






Major Gen.(Rtd) Charles M. Mwanzia (OGW,EBS, CBS) (Board Member)

  PhD (continuing), Doctorate in Military Science(USA), MA International Relations (USIU), BA(Hons) International Relations(USIU), Air Traffic Controller (Aerodrome, Approach & Radar), Diploma Associated Engineer, Diploma in Intelligence Management, Certificate in Strategic Studies, Certificate in Defense Instructional Techniques.





Capt. Judy Wanjiku Kiniti (Board Member)

OMP (Strathmore 2012), ATPL KCAA (1997), CPL KCAA (1993).
Work Experience: Captain United Airlines (1992-93), Captain Capital Airlines (1993-95), Captain Eagle Aviation(1995-97), Captain Air-Kenya Express (1997-2001), Director Habitat For Humanity Kenya.

Copyright © 2017 Kenya Civil Aviation Authority. All Rights Reserved.